General Description of the Torres del Paine National Park.

Torres del Paine National Park is one of the components of the National System of Protected Wildlife Areas of the Republic of Chile.

In 2006 it took up a surface of 242.242 hectares approximately. It is one of the largest parks in the country and one of the most important.

The National Park is located 112 km north from Puerto Natales and 312 km from Punta Arenas. It is one of the eleven protected areas in the Region of Magallanes and Chilean Antarctic (together with other four national parks, three national reserves and three national monuments).

Altogether, the wildlife protected areas take up a 51%  surface of  the region ( 6.728.744 ha). It is bounded on the north by  National Park Los Glaciares in Argentina.

The Park was created on the 13th of May 1959. The UNESCO declared it as Biosphere Reserve on the 28th of April 1978.

The Park presents a great variety of natural environments: mountains ( among which the Cerro Paine Complex stands out with a main peak that reaches 3.050 msnm, Torres del Paine and Cuernos del Paine), valleys, rivers ( such as Río Paine), lakes ( Grey, Pehoé, Nordenskjold and Sarmiento are the most renown) and glaciers  (Grey, Tyndall and Geike belonging to Campos de Hielo Patagónico Sur).